Three are dead….I Am Number Four

 

Yes, I know it has taken me a while to get around and read this book, since school has started (college and what not) I haven’t had the time to pick up any new books, but luckily my younger cousin let me borrow her I am number four book by Pittacus Lore. 

Can I just say the movie does NO JUSTICE to the book…just kidding! The movie is awesome! But there’s a lot more action in the end of the book then in the movie…just sayin!

Now on to the review!

 

Image

 

^My picture I took it, please credit.

Brief Summary:

Nine of us came here. We look like you. We talk like you. We live among you. But we are not you. We can do things you dream of doing. We have powers you dream of having. We are stronger and faster than anything you have ever seen. We are the superheroes you worship in movies and comic books—but we are real.

Our plan was to grow, and train, and become strong, and become one, and fight them. But they found us and started hunting us first. Now all of us are running. Spending our lives in shadows, in places where no one would look, blending in. we have lived among you without you knowing. But they know.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They killed them all.

I am Number Four. I am next.

-From the back of the book

Thoughts:

I thought this book was absolutely amazing, I have heard positive reviews of the second and third book and people are saying its even better than this one…wow I can’t wait to read those.

But this book was great. A lot of action, romance, great plot and back story, characters. I thought I wasn’t going to like it since I am not a fan of alien and sci-fiction stuff (I’m more into dystopian and what not) but this book took me by surprise. Plus I love how its in first person…and from a guys point of view, something different and fresh (in my opinion).

 

What does this book have?

Romance, family, fight for what you love, discovering yourself, and a whole lot of ACTION!!! Not to mention the MOST adorable dog named Bernie Kosar (there are a lot of aww scenes with the dog).

 

Is it like the movie?

To be honest the movie is great two thumbs up, they portrayed the characters well. Although Henri has a different accent in the book, and Six has dark hair, and Sam has glasses (in the beginning) but other than that pretty good. The movie does lack A LOT of plot from the book, the fight scene in the end of the movie (in the football field) was ehh :/ compared to the end fight scene in the book which had me on the edge of my seat. Plus the movie doesn’t fully explain what happened in Lorien (four’s home planet) and the back story.

 

Who do you recommend this book to?

Anyone who likes action and fighting the bad guys :D This book appeals to both boys and girls, since its coming from a guys perspective I’m sure for guys its easier to understand and stuff, and girls will still love it. I mean….c’mon what girl doesn’t love Four? They say this book is for ages 14 and up, it is pretty long book though 440 pages to be exact (paperback).

 

What type of content does the book have?

Several kissing scenes, but thats all. In the fight scenes they do throw knives and people get cut and stuff but when some aliens die they just turn into ash, so it isn’t that gruesome. Yes, there are bad words. It’s scattered throughout the book, I think there is a bad word on each chapter so maybe some parents might want to look at that first before their child reads it.

Favorite characters?

Image

Six on the left, Four (aka John) in the middle, Sarah on the right. No there is NO love triangle in the book.

Besides Four, I like Six. Six is a strong character she isn’t afraid to fight and she seems like a very interesting character that I can’t wait to read more about her in the next book. Also Sam, he is  a science geek, but he turns out being a really great friend to Four.

Sarah, sarah is a sweetheart. She was a typical cheerleader that dated the popular guy and what not but in this book we meet her when she is completely changed, she is a quiet girl who is into photography, and I just like how different she is from the cliche person she used to be.

Henri, Four’s guardian or ‘Cepan’ he is important in helping Four discover who he really is and Henri really wants to protect him and wants the Lorien race to live, he has seen what happened to his home planet and sometimes I didn’t understand why he would be strict or do certain things but in the end everything had its purpose and without him Four would practically be dead.

BERNIE KOSAR! Ok, this is the dog and it may seem like I am exaggerating in this but he is one of my TOP favorite characters, first is Four then its Bernie. He is a beagle, a bit mysterious but he brought a lot of laughs and lightened the mood in the story. When you read the book and especially towards the end, you’ll understand more about him and you’ll love him even more.

Ratings?

9 out of 10

Any questions about the book don’t be afraid to ask in the comments below. I will be more than happy to answer :)

Happy readings!

-E.

 

P.S. Please allow me to fan girl over the movie with these pictures below…thank you :)

Image

 

So epic.

Image

 

One of my most favorite scenes in the movie. How awesome is that!? ^

 

Image

 

OMG! Bernie Kosar, I love this dog.

Leave a Reply

