Divergent by Veronica Roth

I have made a list of books that need to be reviewed and boy do I have a list so I’m going to start posting them. Today I have a day off from school so I’m taking advantage of the time 🙂

Here is the review for Divergent !

 

What is it?

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

 

Ok….So what do you think about it?

I loved this book, I just couldn’t put it down I spent a whole week just reading this book (warning, you will not have a life when you read this). You cannot put it down and if you do you are just going to think what is going to happen next? It moves at a fast pace, so any HG lovers that want to read something with a fast pace and crazy plot let me introduce you to Divergent.

 

 

Characters?

Beatrice aka Tris is the lead character, she is strong and doesn’t make decisions based on what everyone tells her.

Four, is another strong character, he is mysterious, a bit dark but there is more to him than meets the eye. He is also brave, smart, and goes through a lot.

There are many more characters that you meet in the book but these are the main two, I’ll let you guys learn about the others as you read (I can’t tell you everything) 😉

*Just to let you know there is NO love triangle in this book.

 

Who would you recommend this book to?

They say this book is for ages 14 and up, but I disagree with this. I think 12 year olds can read this. It has 487 pages (paperback). Anybody who loves the Hunger Games Series, including Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

 

Content in the book? 

There is violence, killing, and fighting. There are kissing scenes, but for parents sake (I don’t want anybody to tell me this book is too much for their child) there is a certain scene from page 400-405 that I recommend they check out. But other than that the whole book is good, I don’t recall any cursing in it, so its clean language, but there is violence.

 

Anything else?

Well like I mentioned above this book is crazy! When I finished reading it I kept saying this book is Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay all mixed in one book, and this is only the first book in a 3 part series, so I’m eager to see how it ends. If you decide to read this, this book will make your heart race and will have you on the edge of your seat.

 

 

*Sorry for comparing it to the Hunger Games, it is completely different but the violence level is just as high as the Hunger Games Series.

If I’m forgetting something on here let me know, I read this book a while back and I probably forgot some important things, but I think I got the basics covered.

Any questions, comments, or concerns about this book let me know by commenting here or just tweet me @elimariereguere

 

Enjoy your readings!

-E.

 

3 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

