Insurgent by Veronica Roth!

Before we get to the review, to be honest I wrote half of this during my math class :P, I suppose some of my fellow classmates thought I was writing down what the teacher was saying….haha. But don’t worry I understand my math. I decided to do the review on Insurgent right after Divergent, like I said in the previous post I have a lot of books I like to review, so I’m trying to get as much on here as I can.

Side note: I got the Power of Six by Pittacus Lore! (the second book after I am number four). So that is my current read…in case you’re wondering (which you might not). ……

Anyway lets get on to the review!

 

 

Insurgent? What is that?

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

 

 

What did you think?

I enjoyed Insurgent a lot. Like Divergent it moves very fast, we are introduced to new characters. There is a lot of action, you learn more about Tris and Four. The question that we had in the first book are answered here. But not not all questions are answered. I enjoyed reading about the past things of certain characters and about the society itself. I felt the characters’ relationships were real, they didn’t feel like just another written work to make the story sound interesting. The ending of Insurgent felt like something ended but at the same time a curtain has been pulled back and it has left us (once again) hanging. Veronica Roth did a master piece of a book, just like the first book I couldn’t put it down.

 

And….what about the characters?

We are introduced back with the characters we met in the first book, and in this book we learn more about them. I enjoyed learning more about Four and more about his past. Same for Tris’ family and about their past. Tris still has to deal with the emotions of the events that happened in the first book and here aswell. One thing that upset me was when Tris has all these emotions and hurt bottled inside, she doesn’t want to tell anyone. She keeps her emotions to herself, resulting in her stubborn attitude that she develops, but I suppose it makes her realistic and relatable (depends on personal choice).

 

 

Difference between this book from the first?

The characters travel to ALL the factions, so we learn (like I said above) more about the society and how it works. There is more action, more battles, and I guess more questions than answers 😉

 

Who do you reccomend this book for?

People who have read Divergent.

*If you haven’t read Divergent you might be lost while reading this book, you wouldn’t understand why some people in the book are acting a certain way and you wouldn’t know ALL the events that lead up to where the characters are now.

 

 

Any final thoughts?

Yes….WHY CAN’T THE THIRD BOOK COME OUT ALREADY!? I don’t want to spoil anything for anybody but the ending of this book has me questioning so much! I just hope the third book will answer my questions.

 

Overall the rating for Insurgent and Divergent (which I forgot to put) is a 9/10 great read, love the fast pace, love the characters, love the story, what is not to love about this book!?

Any questions about this book leave a comment or let me know on my twitter @elimariereguere

 

Happy readings!

-E.

 

2 thoughts on “Insurgent by Veronica Roth!

  1. The ending… OMG THE ENDING! I need the 3rd book to be out already. Actually, I needed the 3rd book to be out as as soon as I finished Insurgent. I can’t think about this book without getting impatient for the next.

Leave a Reply

