The Rise of Nine….is finally here!

Hello people! Finally I am able to do the book review for the Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore, there has been a lot of buzz about this book and I can’t wait to share with you my thoughts.

On the previous post, I wanted to join both books (the Power of Six and the Rise of Nine) into one post but that didn’t work out as well as I had planned soooo without further delay lets get started!

So what is the Rise of Nine? 

Until the day I met John Smith, Number Four, I’d been on the run alone, hiding and fighting to stay alive.

Together, we are much more powerful. But it could only last so long before we had to separate to find the others. . . .

I went to Spain to find Seven, and I found even more, including a tenth member of the Garde who escaped from Lorien alive. Ella is younger than the rest of us, but just as brave. Now we’re looking for the others—including John.

But so are they.

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They caught me in New York—but I escaped.
I am Number Six.
They want to finish what they started.

But they’ll have to fight us first.

Whose telling the story here?

This book is told from not one…not two….but three point of views! John aka Four (who we met in the first book), Marina aka Seven (who we met in the second book), and Six (who we met in the first book but is now narrating her side of the story). Its very interesting, I thought it was going to be confusing with all the point of views but it actually adds to the action and the craziness of the story and you understand what is actually going on.

The difference between the first two books?

Well, this is the most recent book in the Lorien Legacies. There is much more action, you finally meet almost all of the garde (the teen aliens) which there is nine of them. Although we are just missing one in order to complete the team! 😀 I’m sure I haven’t mentioned this before but we are introduced to Nine (the character) in the end of the second book, but in this book we get to know him more…..he is one of my favorite characters (as well as BK). I can go on and on and on about Nine but I will stick to the review.

Ok? Speaking of Nine….how are the rest of the Characters? 

John doesn’t seem to change much, he is still determined but also has his weaknesses although in this book he develops a third legacy (power) hehe 😉

Sarah is in this book aswell, and this book explains soo much. The questions we had about her in the second book are pretty much answered in this book. Wow, poor Sarah we get mad at her then we feel sorry for her, oh boy.

Marina gets stronger and even though she hasn’t had any formal training and isn’t as strong as six she gets braver in this story.

Ella, gosh what a sweet heart you will love her, and her Legacy is one of my most favorites.

Eight….what an interesting character I wish I can fully explain this character but I’m afraid I’ll let the book explain to you (reader’s benefits!)

Nine, finally! If you thought John was your favorite character…you haven’t read the last two books. Nine is funny correction hilarious! I had a blast reading about this character. He loves danger, when its a moment that he is close to death he really brings comedy into a situation and he can really kick some butt. 😉 I think out of all of the Nine err Ten kids (including Ella) I think Nine has had the best life on earth, from the place he lived the past five years, and how he trained, you just have to read it in order to understand it.

Bernie Kosar aka BK, never ceases to fascinate me. He saves John countless of times along with Nine in this book.

The contents of this book anything different? 

This book is still recommended for readers 14+ even though my twelve year old cousin read it easily. There are some bad words in this book just like in the first two, along with violence…but how else do you expect some teens to fight off evil aliens that want to kill you?

Any final thoughts?

Overall this book was a really great read. I enjoyed reading it from page one all the way till the last page. I really hoped this book series would become a movie series. The new characters are all different but their differences is what makes up a great team. I just want the fourth book to come out already, I still have some questions about some characters….

IF you have not read the first two books don’t even THINK ABOUT opening this book. If any of you brave souls out there wish to open it and think they can handle this book you are WRONG, you will be confused, so please read the first two books then read this one.

Rating?

9.7/10 Yeah, I rated it pretty high 😉

Well, thats my review on the Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore. Any questions, comments, concerns about this book let me know on the comments below or on my twitter @elimariereguere

Have a happy Wednesday!

-E

P.S. I really wish Nine was real, it would be interesting to have a friend like that….book reader problems smh -_-

Leave a Reply

