NanoWrimo Day 11?

Hey everyone. I am so sorry I haven’t updated. I’ve been meaning to post an intro and tips for NanoWrimo since it is National Novel Writing Month. Basically just to let you know (in case you don’t), NanoWrimo is a writing challenge to write 50,000 words within the month of November. Seems easy right? Well trying doing that when you have a ton of schoolwork, exams, and other deadlines that you must complete.

nanowrimo.org  (sign up its free)

Somehow I have managed to keep myself on pace 🙂 but let me tell you it wasn’t easy.

Yesterday I wasn’t able to write at all, but today I made up for it by writing double.

Now for those of you who are already doing Nano here are some tips that I’m sure you have heard of before but its just a quick reminder:

1) Create a playlist for your story, it will help you stay inspired and stay focused on what you are writing.

2) Create a folder on your computer with pictures that inspire you. Like a setting or maybe some celebrities that may look like your characters, etc.. Many people recommend opening a tumblr account and posting pics there, but I think that will cause too much of a distraction and every minute counts.

3)OUTLINE!!! If you’re like me, create an outline, if you free write, you will eventually get a road block and you will have no idea how to get around it without deleting half of what you already wrote (and you can’t afford that with nano). Know what you are writing, know where your story is heading.

4) Ignore editing. I know for some (especially perfectionists) this is extremely tough to do. It will kill your writing and it will distract you from writing ahead. For me I know I have so many parts in my story that will need a whole lot of editing but I can’t turn back, I have to stay focused and keep writing froward!

5) Get writing buddies that write more or less as many words as you do or more. I have noticed, for me this encourages me to write more and push myself.

Those are all the quick tips I have for now, later on I’ll try to add more.

Remember if you are feeling lazy about writing or you feel discouraged, go on youtube and search for nanowrimo. There are tons of youtubers who are doing nano and keep a daily vlog about their writing. Also on youtube you can find countless of tips from people all around the world that are doing the same thing.

This is truly a fun experience that you get to share with people all over the world.

So what are you waiting for? Get writing!

-E.

P.S. In case you are wondering if you want to be my buddy my username is elibetty.

Happy writings everyone!

Leave a Reply

