Favorite Movies/Directors

Alrighty. Hello blog readers *waves*

Recently I was asked on twitter what were some of my favorite movies and film makers. I’ve answered this lightly on my ‘about me’ pages throughout the years and every so often I change my answer but I decided for once and for all answer it here! 😀

*Caution* I might forget some movies and film makers and as time goes by the list of films I consider my favorite will only increase. 🙂

Also please keep in mind these are some of my FAVORITE films but there are SOOOOO MANY other films that I also love but I didn’t add to this last.

Favorite Movie Genres:

  • Historical (medeviel-1940s)
  • Adventure

I also enjoy Sy-fy, Drama, Romance, Comedies, Action, Thrillers, and Fantasy, ONLY when it’s done right (story, film, cast, etc..)

Favorite Historical Movies:

  • The Young Victoria
  • Cheerful Weather For the Wedding (its on Netflix look it up if you haven’t heard of it)
  • One Night With the King
  • Passion of the Christ
  • Casablanca
  • On the Waterfront (1957)
  • Bonnie and Clyde (1967)
  • Les Miserables (2012)
  • The Great Gatsby (2013)
  • Argo
  • The Artist
  • Lincoln
  • The Queen (2006)
  • Atonement
  • Gladiator
  • The King’s Speech
  • The Book Thief
  • Zero Dark Thirty
  • Schindler’s List
  • Pride and Prejudice

Favorite Adventure/Fantasy:

  • Pirates of the Caribbean (1-3) (4 was alright)
  • Lord of the Rings (Trilogy)
  • Narnia (1-3)
  • Alice in Wonderland (2010)
  • The Hunger Games (also Catching Fire)
  • Ender’s Game
  • Avengers (including their individual movies, Captain America, Iron Man,Thor (except Thor 2))
  • Stars Wars (all of them)
  • Spider-Man (2002)
  • Gravity
  • The Illusionist

Favorite Comedies:

  • Decoy Bride (If you have not seen this I HIGHLY recommend you watch it, its on Netflix)
  • Pink Panther (2006 and 2009)
  • The Devil Wears Prada
  • The Proposal

*Sorry not a lot of comedy. I’m kinda skeptical when it comes to comedies and usually they’re kinda cheesy but if you know any good ones please tell me*

Animation:

  • Monsters Inc
  • Monsters University
  • Sleeping Beauty
  • Brave
  • Toy Story
  • Shrek
  • Meet the Robinsons

These are my top animated favorite movies but I also love all of Disney’s Pixar films and 99% of every disney animation film, from Peter Pan and Emperor’s New Groove, Stitch, to Brave and Frozen. Literally anything Disney I LOVE ❤

Other:

Most likely I like any disney original film before 2007. Meaning Cheetah Girls, Zenon, Johnny Capahala, etc.. I was a kid back then and those were my fav movies and if I watch them today they will only give me great memories.

Favorite Film Makers:

  • George Lucas
  • Steven Spielberg
  • Pete Docter
  • Lee Unkrich
  • Kathryn Bigelow
  • Andrew Adamson
  • Stephen J. Anderson
  • Ridley Scott
  • Brian Percival
  • Niel Burger

I could list tons more and I haven’t even started on screenwriters which that is whole other category.

Well then I know I could list loads and loads of movies and filmmakers but there is only so much I can fit into a blog post, right?

Why are these your favorite movies?

  • The main thing that I usually say is story. STORY STORY STORY. Is what drives me to watch a movie, if the story looks interesting then I’m up for it (that is why I watch book to movie adaptations cause I love the stories).
  • The second thing: It transports me to another world. Literally when I watch these movies I forget my problems and focus on the characters and their world even if it’s fantasy or reality. If a movie can take me out of this world and be momentarily transported to another world then its a gem. (another reason why I freaking LOVE Narnia so much)

Why are these your favorite directors?

  • One way or another all these directors had to push past criticism and doubt (I’m sure like many others). Also because they believe in the stories they want to tell.
  • Particularly you’ll see a lot of animated directors in that list, it’s because they have to stretch their imagination to create a believable world within the virtual reality and I absolutely love when people use their creativity to tell a story. I love Disney and Pixar because everyday they are training their people to always think out of the box when it comes to retelling an old story, or coming up with a new one while maintaing and bringing out their inner child.

Well hopefully that answers that so now you guys know a bit of what I like, I’ll probably be updating it every time I remember a new film or director that I love.

Anyway Happy Movie watching!!!

-E.

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

SUBSCRIBE TO MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL

FOLLOW ME ON TUMBLR

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAMIZZLE

Leave a Reply

